Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eukaryote_gw

Acer pentaphyllum

eukaryote
16 years ago

Does anyone know if Acer pentaphyllum are being propagated from seed, or if seedlings are available anywhere? Any time I see them offered, they are always grafted.

Comments (16)

• herman_neutics
    16 years ago

Euk, i started growing a pair of grafted trees this year.

Intrigued by this plant.
    Do you think they'd be sturdier on their own roots?

• eukaryote
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Herman,

I don't think it would necessarily be healthier on its own roots, but I don't really like grafted trees. I've been growing a grafted one for three years now in a pot. The graft is really visible and it drives me nuts. I tried to root cuttings several times to get a good starter for a bonsai, but to no avail. I love the tree that I have, very elegant foliage, even if it does look a bit like marijuana. Being that it's grafted though, it is just half a tree.

• conifers
    16 years ago

forestfarm doesn't mention whether their trees are grafted or non-grafted but they do sell these.

Dax (see link)

Here is a link that might be useful: forestfarm Acer pentaphyllum

• herman_neutics
    16 years ago

Well maybe i do have a seed grown. I assumed it was a graft. One tree i grow came from FF the other from Mendocino Maples. Both were nice specimens. I planted both myself and I can not recall if i examined grafts.....hmmmm.

I have these trees planted at a different garden. I will take a look and report back soon.

Probably all pentaphyllum seekers have already read the story in the link. It is worthwhile.

Here is a link that might be useful: Acer pentaphyllum adventure

• eukaryote
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Mine came from Forestfarm. It wouldn't be so noticeable perhaps in a landscape setting, but having it in a pot on the porch you really notice the contrast in bark texture. I think it's grafted onto Acer buergerianum.

• Embothrium
    16 years ago