Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tob11

Pruning plan for Y shaped Japanese Maple

tob11
16 years ago

I just bought my first upright Japanese Maple. It's a waist-high Bloodgood that I just put in the ground in mid October. It has a perfectly symetrical Y split to the trunk about 12 inches from the ground. The more I read about bonsai shaping concepts, the more I'm worried this symetrical Y shape is not so perfect.

I imagine I'm going to have to choose one side to keep and one to prune off, but when and how? I'm guessing I should wait a while until it gets established before I lop off half of the tree. I'm hoping to get some advice on the best way to approach this problem (if it's a problem at all - I'm still too green to know).

Comments (6)

• myersphcf
    16 years ago

I am NOT an expert on pruning...but I see nothing wrong with just leaving it ...it may be more bushy than upright but in zone 5a it likely won't get huge anyway and I personally like all types of Jm growth patterns ... I would think chopping off half your tree at anytime would not be a great idea but I really don't know how big it is.. a smaller diameter branch chopped off when totally dormant mid winter would probably be ok but not necessary and the tree may look like it is unaturally listing for many years IMHO...If it is a fairly large diameter established tree 4 or more years old I would give that thought some pause ...I am sure the male and female sizzorhands in this group may have differnt opinions .David

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    16 years ago

I'm going along with David on this one. While a perfectly symmetrical Y-shaped crotch is not exactly ideal, it is far less of a concern on a Japanese maple than it can be on other trees. In fact, less than ideal branch crotches are often SOP on J. maples - it's part of the growth habit of the trees and a feature that often provides much of their sculptural interest as they mature.