Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
urbandk_gw

Have I been duped? JM Seedlings

urbandk
14 years ago

So I got the first true leaves on these seedlings. I got the seeds off ebay and they were advertised as red JM seeds. But since this is my first time trying to grow JM from seeds, i dont know what seedlings look like. some of them are all green, some with hints of red, and some with tinges of red, but nothing all red or purplish. none of the leaves are dissected. Do these traits show up later on?

Google turns up some fairly large seedlings, so i can't really compare. Are these just standard maple trees? i dont want to waste the energy (literally - they are under grow lights now) to keep it growing till spring. also i know seeds dont grow true to the parent.. but how much variation, of trees can i expect?

As you can see.. there are some fairly tiny leafed ones.. and then there are these.... any help would be greatly appreciated!

{{gwi:746}}

{{gwi:750}}

{{gwi:754}}

also can someone tell me what annuals these are.. i bought these last spring at lowes and i lost the tags.. but them seem to root pretty easily in water, so i am trying to bring it thru to next spring... but i have no idea what these are called... its the pink and red ones... and they sort of look like mini flat flowered carnations.

Comments (6)

• urbandk
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Also anyone know where i can get grow tubes? similar to the clear tubes i used above.

• mafle
    14 years ago

I would say you have not been duped, these are very likely the seedlings of red Japanese maples. As you noted, these plants can be very variable when grown from seed, in terms of size, shape, colour, form etc.

The amount of red in the leaf colour also varies with light intensity in red JMs, many will green out in less than ideal light. You will have a better idea as to these young trees' true colour when you get them outside in some sunshine next summer.