Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
reagantrooper

SPIN Farming?

reagantrooper
17 years ago

Happy New Year to all!!

Does anyone have any expierce with the SPIN Farming method?

Are the online guides worth the high price?

Comments (5)

• randy41_1
    17 years ago

can you get the same info just by googling and reading?

• loodean
    17 years ago

I went to SPINfarming.com and looked around. I am unclear whatÂs up with the "SPIN" part. I cannot see how urban market gardening is different from any other type of market gardening, except you have smaller plots in scattered locations. I was an urban farmer for years, now I am in the country, but may retire back to urban farming. For years, I have based everything on John JeavonÂs "How to Grow More Vegetables Than You Ever Thought Possible". You buy it once, it tells you everything you need to know and you can get it at Barnes and Nobles for $19.95 or here: http://www.bountifulgardens.org/prodinfo.asp?number=BEA%2D0300. It is based on raised beds and as far as I can see SPIN is the same thing, however, someone decided to package it up with a new face and make $$$$ convincing others they need follow a "system". Jeavons also complied the book "The Backyard Homestead" back in 1983 which is what SPIN is trying to duplicate.

• dirtdigging101
    17 years ago

loodan has got it about right, I agree. nice idea but soil is so important i hate the thought of improving soil and not having it the next year possibly.

in th enext year or two i am going to find some land closer in for my market farm, i am running out of space and need a new plan any how

• Dibbit
    17 years ago