Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kritzmicrogrow

please help with raspberry growing tips?

kritzmicrogrow
15 years ago

hi every gardener people.

i would like to plant raspberries around my border. how many do you think i could plant/ i have about 600 ft. long of area,

3ft wide.

i have never planted these and i would like help with how many plants i could fit, what soil they like, and possible yields, also how to protect from birds and deer.( would the thorny bushes deter deer?) thanks mark.

Comments (6)

• gian
    15 years ago

Mark
    I am not a proffessional by all means but I know most raspberries are fairly easy to grow and don't require special treatment. Unless your soil is clay or really poor, all you will need is to add some composted dirt or peat moss mixed with your own soil in the holes. Makes the holes 3 times as big as the root or root ball you have.
    You will need a fence or some sort of long sturdy support that you will twine the rasberry shoots as they grow. Plant one every 4 ft or more (they grow really fast once established)
    As for deers I have always had dogs so to me never been a problem.
    birds don't usually eat enough of the berries to cause real problems, I just share. perhaps your area could be bad in which case you can net all around (but that would be some pain to deal with, however it might help with the deer problem as well)
    the only reason I answered you is because there are so little activity in these forums I thought no one will. I am not an expert but I do grow raspberries.

I am actually trying to find anyone interested in Success with house plant collection?
    thanks
    Have fun!

• berry-nut
    15 years ago

Mark