Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chrisbmo

Beddetr

chrisbmo
14 years ago

Id like to get into some vegetable gardening. I have some experience growing vegetables but nothing really on a grand scale.

Ive got a couple different things going for me. One is I have some bottom ground that is currently in pasture. The plan is to plow it up and bed it. The only problem is it is more apt to freeze, but I can work with that. I know it should be plowed in the fall, cover cropped, and bedded in the spring, but it didnt work out that way. Whats the likelihood of plowing it in may/june, hitting it a couple times with the disc, and then bedding and planting pumpkins in July?

Also, I have a small field that has been terraced. What is the best way to go about planting tomatoes on the terrace tops? I would like to use plastic mulch, as I do work fulltime.

I am trying to plan ahead for the future. I would like to make raised beds and plastic mulch. How important is it to have these perfect, square beds? Might one get by using a lister/hiller in a pass and mulch that? Perhaps wait for it to dry out some and roll it and mulch?

I really need to talk with someone experienced in my area, but not many people grow vegetables around here. Maybe for good reason.

Thoughts?

Comments (10)

• myfamilysfarm
    14 years ago

I don't make beds. I make plots that are 50' wide. Then I plant across the 50' side.

As far as your bottom ground, I have a cattle farmers that would plant her pumpkins in the washed out areas, to help keep the ground from washing more.

Just check out where you would sell your produce BEFORE you plant. Nothing worse than to have alot of something that you can't get rid of.

I didn't check, what part of the country are you from?

• chrisbmo
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Im in Central MO.

• randy41_1
    14 years ago