Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
attemptedgardener

labeling plants for market

attemptedgardener
18 years ago

I have been selling perennial seedlings at home for the past few years and want to take them to a new farmers market this spring. I haven't labeled any of the plants in the past and was wondering how those of you that sell plants handle labeling.

Thanks,

Chris

Comments (9)

• trianglejohn
    18 years ago

I use popsicle sticks because I can buy them so cheap in large quanitities and in bright colors. Most of my customers don't seem to care about the plant's names. Some of the customers just want the common and scientific names so that they can conduct their own research after they've bought it. Printed handouts were rarely wanted.

• hedwig
    18 years ago

I'm just a beginner, still planting and I start out selling in four to six weeks... I label like this: I buy or search in my home any thin plastic material f.e. old overhead foils and cut them. I write the common name with specie f.e. "cape gooseberry golden nugget" and then the date of seeding. Its plenty of work. But I can do it with the kids. And it is cheap. The sticker I make like this are quite nice because like this they are normally coloured.

• billtex
    18 years ago

triangle john, great idea,where do you buy them ? bill

• trianglejohn
    18 years ago