Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
evanthemarketgrower

When do i start?

Im in central ohio and looking to do tomatoes pumpkins squash muskmelon watermelon honeydew blue lake pole beans a vareity of leaf lettus cabbage and onion. I have a green house and i want to know when to start my plants to have the longest season. My last frost last year was may 10th. also im wondering when i figure my cost and profit how do i find the profit i can make? This is my first year growing for my family farm market and im starting small and trying to slowly get bigger. any advice on any aspect of market growing would be nice. Thanks!

Comments (4)

• myfamilysfarm
    13 years ago

I start my tomatoes, peppers and eggplant extra early. My .frost date is 4/20. I wouldn't expect you have make a profit your first year, if so, not much. You will have alot of expenses for the start up year.
    Are you going to an established farmers market, or are you doing a farm stand? there are differences in how much you can market and what supplies you will need.

I found one website that helps beginners in the Midwest for how to start their planting. It is http://www.pubs.ext.vt.edu/426/426-331/426-331.pdf

It has alot of help.

good luck

Marla

• evanthemarketgrower
    Original Author
    13 years ago

i am starting at an established farmers market, we are more of a bakery that ships in its produce it sells. and i am going to try and grow some of it this year. when it started out with my 30 years ago we grew everything and it had since changed alot and i want to bring back more of a produce aspect to the market, but thanks for the link! its very informative!

• boulderbelt
    13 years ago