Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
forgottenforty

Mixed Market Garden Yield Planning

ForgottenForty
12 years ago

3 years ago, I took over my parents 40 acre farm in SW MI, and I've been selling extra produce to an upscale restaurant for the last 2 years. I mainly focus on organic heirloom nightshades (Last year I planted 220 tomatoes and will be planting 880+ this year, alongside; peppers, eggplant, tomatillos, melons, squash, cukes, mixed salad greens and root crops). I have at least 3 more restaurants interested in purchasing from me this year, and am looking for some mentoring from more experienced growers. I met with the new chef at the first restaurant today to go over the preliminaries for the season, (seasonal availability, rough pricing, order size, etc.) and have encountered some perplexity.

The 1st restaurant wants a weekly minimum of;

10 lbs of slicer tomatoes

5 lbs of currant tomatoes

5 lbs of cherry tomatoes

5 lbs of "Manzano"(sp?) peppers (I'm looking for the seeds.)

2 lbs of African Blue Basil Flowers (as garnish)

This is in addition to whatever I can provide for weekend specials (they are interested in oddballs of any kind), beets, carrots, squash, cukes, melons, lettuce mixes, beans and brassicas, as well as new potatoes as they become available.)

My question (finally!) concerns making the transition from selling overage to a focus on selling wholesale, (and at least 1 farm market, and a presence at a local whole-foods retailer.)

How can I possibly know how much to be succession planting to ensure I can meet demand? Space isn't an issue (*I hope, as I have 20+ acres that can be immediately utilized*), but demand is far exceeding my expectations, and the last thing I want to do is make a promise without capacity to fulfill those obligations.