Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
prairiemaid_gw

Packaging, bags, containers etc?

prairiemaid
19 years ago

I'm new to the Farmers Market scene and am in the planning stages for this year. I have some questions pertaining to packaging.

How do you package your vegetables for selling? The ones that need packages, I mean. Like salad mixes, cherry tomatoes or berries? What vegetables do you package? Also, what do you use to bundle items? Elastic bands, twist ties, string, or other? One more question about bagging your sold items for the customer to carry away. Do you purchase new bags, if so what type, or do you reuse plastic grocery store bags? Thanks!

Comments (11)

• davepays
    19 years ago

We use produce bags (the clear ones on a roll) for greens, basil, and carrots. strawberry pints for cherry tomatoes (also could go for berries, but people usually use the clamshells) We also have roll bags for customers to use, and handle bags (like grocery store) when they need a bigger one. Our market manager sells them to us.

• garliclady
    19 years ago

I get my "thank you " plastic handle bags at Sam's club . I use small plastic bread bags from the grocery store for greens and clamshell for berries . I use some paper pint containers for other items I sell (small tomatoes Peas etc) and the customers usually give them right back. I use small paper bags for garlic and small items and mesh bags for pre weighed garlic and shallots. I buy it on a roll.
    I usually bundle items with rubber bands

• robin_maine
    19 years ago

Watch your salad. I might be considered a prepared food. You might be required to have an inspected kitchen and license to sell salad.

• ohiorganic
    19 years ago

I package in clear plastic "5 a-day" bags slad mix, lettuce, chard, pac choi, carrots (tops cut off), parsnips, fresh herbs, dried herbs.
    On all bags i have labels with farm name/logo and contents of the bag as well as address and web URL

string bags
    potatoes, onions

I bunch