Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
canuckistani

Are you worried about contamination or your produce?

canuckistani
15 years ago

I'm new to market growing and wondering how much of a concern salmonella and other pathogens are to market growers. What precautions do people take?

Comments (6)

• kritzmicrogrow
    15 years ago

hello cnuck. do you use raw manures on your fields? if not, you should not have any problems as far as your fresh picked produce. (what happens between picking and market is your responsibility to keep clean and fresh)
    mark.

• canuckistani
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I will only be using aged compost and probably small amounts of aged manure. Raw manure is really the only major concern for you average market gardener before harvesting?

What produce should be refrigerated immediately after harvesting?

Thanks!

• kritzmicrogrow
    15 years ago

hello canuckustani i dont like refridgerating anything.
    now keeping it shaded and around 60 degrees works well.
    a basement or air conditioned small room works great, and keep it in wax produce box,es.
    tomatos like room temp( not 85-95 degree) lettuce like to be moist and covered .and piled up together. same for beans and cukes -60 degrees or close.
    when produce is refridgerated it gets to around 40 degrees ok for your use. but when you take it out to sell at market in warm weather it well deteriorate fast. hope this helps,mark

• boulderbelt
    15 years ago