Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
iloveroosters

greenhouse vs. high tunnels

iloveroosters
18 years ago

I was just wondering how many of you use a high tunnel to get your produce going earlier in the spring, versus a greenhouse?

I am not planning on growing year round, although the idea is appealing... but this is my first year as a market gardener, so I am trying to keep costs to a minimum and will not buy a greenhouse if it's not really necessary.

All I want to do is have a place where I can move my seedlings once they get too big for the grow lights inside my house, and keep them there, protected, until they can go outside after Memorial day. I just spoke to a woman at Farmtek who said most farmer's marketers are using the high tunnels with a plastic cover they can roll up and down as weather permits. My goal is to have tomatoes and peppers ready for late June. What do you all use?

Comments (5)

• anniew
    18 years ago

I have a greenhouse which I only heat from mid-late March until the nights are warm enough not to need it. You could get a greenhouse (from a greenhouse supply place, not Farmtek) and use it like a high tunnel OR greenhouse depending on what the season is. In NH, I'd think you'd need some artificial heat to get peppers and tomatoes by late June, and feel fairly certain that a high tunnel without heat wouldn't do it, based on my similar zone and a grower about 30 miles from me that has a high tunnel for growing tomatoes. He may get some by early-mid July.
    If you got an inflation buster, you could still put roll-up sides on it.
    Griffin Greenhouse Supply (there is a location in Mass, and maybe in Maine) has a greenhouse that they call an inflation buster, and the price is less than things I've seen in Farmtek. It's worth checking out. For heat I use a "salamander" or "torpedo" heater, that I plug into a thermostat. It is a lot less money than a greenhouse heater.
    Good luck.
    Ann

• flowerfarmer
    18 years ago

Iloverroosters,