Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gama_garden_tx

Sugar Snaps?

gama_garden_tx
11 years ago

This is my first year growing sugar snaps (originally didn't think they would do well in my climate). Any helpful tips would be much appreciated. How do you prep/store them? Display them? What do you charge and do you sell by weight or container size? Or do you weigh them at the farm and then sell them by predetermined sizes and/or packaging once you are at the market?

Thanks!

Comments (14)

• boulderbelt
    11 years ago

I always sold them by the pint container which is about a pound IIRC, and charged $3 a pint.

Just pick them and store them in the fridge for no more than 3 days. If no refrigeration than get them sold within 24 hours. They need no washing unless muddy for some reason.

• myfamilysfarm
    11 years ago

I always sold mine by the pound and got up to $6 per pound. I never sold any that had been refrigerated and was sold the day after picking.

I had a market 3 days per week, and picked the previous morning after the dew was gone. I found that picking early in the day, the peas were sweeter than picking in the afternoon or evening.

• Mark
    11 years ago

I sell them in pint sized berry boxes. Each box fits just about 1/2 lb and sells for $3.

My growing tips are to plant bush varieties if you don't want to trellis them ("sugar sprint" is my favorite). 2 rows, 12" apart in a 3' bed.

In the late summer I plant "super sugar snaps" to climb a 6' trellis in order to stay above the frost. These produce till a hard freeze and come in when other growers don't have peas.

-Mark

• tomatoesandthings
    11 years ago

Do others on here find that sugar snap peas sell better than shelling and snow peas? In the past I have grown the shelling peas but customers and the market come up and want to bite right into them so I'm considering switching to the sugar snaps.

• myfamilysfarm
    11 years ago