Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fire80

Advice for new market grower with a microfarm?

fire80
11 years ago

This is my first year growing and selling veggies from my microfarm (~1300 sq ft) at local markets and to local restaurants. I'll be specializing in mostly heirloom tomatoes (as well as cherry tomatoes and romas), while also producing sweet and hot peppers, basil, and lettuce. I'm a tad worried about how much production I'll get out of such a small area and whether or not heirloom tomatoes will sell in a fairly conservative small city in the midwest. Any advice?? Thanks!

Comments (22)

• myfamilysfarm
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

First of all, how small of town are you talking about. Around my markets, heirlooms don't get a higher price and don't have more customers than the traditional varieties.

Cherry tomatoes and romas will have only certain customers, and in my case, not that many. Regular red cherry tomatoes only sell when grapes are not available. I think I have had 1 regular customer that prefers them.

Sweet banana peppers will sell only during the early times, before other gardeners starts producing their own.

Large to Huge Bell Pepper sell, also if they are RED, but small/medium ones don't sell as well. Most marketers that I've seen pick their peppers in the small/medium stage instead of waiting for the Large/xxl sizes.

Basil will sell if there are not alot of other vendors with it, or customers that grow their own.

Lettuce will sell well during the off-season, if you can get it to work for you. Early in the season when everyone else has it, don't expect alot of sales. Plus it takes alot of lettuce to make a pound.

I started out with a small garden about the size that you're talking about and made about $1700 worth of sales. I increased each year, but would still recommend starting at the level that you are at. You will learn whether you want to deal with the people and be able to control that area BEFORE you expand.