Return to the Market Gardener Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Trying to start a small scale Greenhouse

Posted by chappy99 Iowa (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 29, 06 at 12:53

My friend and I are kicking around the idea of a small scale greenhouse, so I will have MANY questions down the road. One of the things we are looking at is Poinssettas. Where do we find the starter stock for something like this. I can't find any cutting or anything.
Thanks
Chappy

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Trying to start a small scale Greenhouse

When you get ready to buy one(greenhouse) check out the Greenhouse Forum they are a wealth of info. Sorry can't help on the Poinssettas, this is my first year.
Paws

o

In the trade, it is usually agreed that most poinsettia growers don't make any money on the crop, but use it to pay fixed costs over the fall/winter, plus keep some of their employees so they will still be there when they need them in the spring.
Having said that, if you are a GREAT marketer, you may be able to custom grow special things and make a little money.
Since you don't know where to get cuttings, I am assuming you are not getting trade publications where there are often ads for such materials. Belonging to a greenhouse or other growing association would be a help also, to make contacts and find out about the challenges of growing poinsettias or any other crop.
Good luck, but do some research before jumping in. Heating for the poinsettia season is expensive, more so than heating for a spring bedding crop season...by three times, in my experience.
Ann

o

You might want to try something other than the following: poinsettias, mums, pansies, easter lilies. The big growers and the big stores have that market all covered up as far as I can tell.

o

• Posted by timh z8 E.Tx. (My Page) on
    Fri, Jun 2, 06 at 1:52

Yeah, SKIP the Poinsettias... I used to be a grower in Iowa. The fuel will kill ya'! Besides, they are a big pain to grow...not for the beginer..