Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
herbal_gw

Want to start a peony nursery

herbal
10 years ago

I posted this on the peony forum, but I figured I'd post here too.
I love peonies. I'm new to growing but if someone asked me what work would I do day after day, without pay, it would be to have a peony nursery. I believe I have found my true-ist calling. Now that I have waxed poetic, here's my question: anyone want to mentor a newbie? Or lead me in the right direction to some mentor ship/ apprenticeship. I want to purchase 500-1000 peonies this fall to begin my nursery. I'd like to anyway, but I have many questions and lots to learn. Where do I begin? I'm in maryland, but am willing to travel.

Comments (10)

• boulderbelt
    10 years ago

Talk to a local flower grower in your state, regulations vary state to state). I believe you will need to get a nursery license to start and there are probably other such things to look into. And you will need to find a supplier of great quality roots and finally a market (are you doing cut flowers or selling the plants?)

• jebfarm
    10 years ago