Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardener365

RE: What I've learned Reading Here Today

gardener365
15 years ago

Hi all, first of all thanks so much for your help.

This is my first year. I've learned a lot in the thread:

"Selling by weight vs. Pre-bagged Produce". If you don't mind I have some basic questions that require information I just can't pick up in a quick read. So again, this is very much appreciated on your's and mine's behalf. Best Regards...

I'm growing a greenhouse full of flowers and herb and tomato starts (16 foot long attached x 6 wide) and I've got plenty of room to accomodate at least 1500 4" pots I suppose if I really jam em in there so that's my size of operation. And then I have a hoophouse that's unheated but is 25 foot in length and 10 foot wide that will accomodate more plants as things warm up and I start needing the extra space. It serves as a shadehouse and winter storage house.

I've timed things so that I can sow my tree seeds along with cuttings, etc- whatever I need to do starting after the last frost here so basically I'll begin to grow another entire round of 1500 potted plants, starting at the time I begin selling at the markets. I happen to grow a lot of Japanese maple seedlings, etc- some of which I'll be selling. All being hybrids of cultivated forms, again from seed though.

Ultimately my greenhouse will be used only during winter for grafting of conifers and deciduous plant material as I'm on my way to being a small-scale online nursery. My addiction is conifers. Until then, I'll enjoy the market as a source of extra income and as a way to start my conifer nursery.

In addition I'll be working outdoors tending 7000 seeds of four varieties of corn.

All my corn seeds are the sugar-enhanced "hybrids" and are not effected from cross-pollination. I did this to allow life to be simple so I can keep them all growing right next to each other.

An assortment:

Sugar Buns (yellow)

Colorow (yellow)

Whiteout (white)