Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tn_jed

the tax man

tn_jed
14 years ago

i am trying to find out about sales tax, do market gardeners have to charge tax, this is my 3rd year selling at the local market and i am now a market manager, i am trying to figure out if we are supposed to be paying tax and if not why i am new to this and just trying to figure out all that it involves, we are a small producer market meaning the only things allowed to be sold must be grown by the seller. there are no regulations in place in this state on fresh fruits and vegetables, processed things like jams, jellies, canned foods, snapped beans or shucked corn can not be sold at our market, and must be prepared in a certified kitchen. so i am wondering how we get around the taxes, are we exempt or are we breaking the law somehow. at what point do we need to think about taxes, is there a limit to how much you can make until you have to charge tax ????

Comments (9)

• eric_wa
    14 years ago

tn jed,

Are small local Farmers market is like yours. Certified kitchen for processed foods and legal scale required if selling by the pound. Can't say your Organic unless Certified.

Taxes, you are probably breaking the law, but plead ignorance. You may at least have to declare it on your income tax. When customers ask use if there is tax, we just say it's in the price. We don't want to deal with nickles, dimes and pennies. We sell our produce to the nearest quarter.

Eric

• dirtdigging101
    14 years ago

in north carolina there is no sales tax at farmers markets for produce, fruits and vegetables . Processed foods and baked goods not so sure will have to look at that.

you can say u are organic if you are not certified u just can not use the national logo and your sales have to be less than $ 5,000 dollars per year.

• myfamilysfarm
    14 years ago