Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ccandy_gw

Help with cheap hoophouse design

ccandy
11 years ago

I'm new to market farming but realize a hoophouse would help me extend my season tremendously. I have seen pvc type, do it your self hoop houses here and there and was wondering if anyone out there in "Market Gardener" land has constructed one. I'm guessing a 20' piece of pvc will give me 12' or so in width. I'm thinking about using rebar to secure the ends but am at a loss how to attach the plastic to the pvc. I will need to open up the sides in the summer. Any suggestions for me? Also, how should I treat the end walls? Also, where is a fairly reasonable source to purchase greenhouse poly. I want it to last at least 4 yrs. Appreciate your help with my project!!! Candy

Comments (14)

• Vick144
    11 years ago

You might check the green house section.

I like you an new to market farming. This will be our third year at market and will have much more than the previous year. I am also in the middle of constructing a small greenhouse. I am using10' lengths of 3/4" PVC. I cut them into 6' and 4' pieces and am using elbows to make an A frame. 3' rebar pounded in about 18" or so. I'm going to use the cheapest 1'x4' lumber I can find for use as hip boards at around 3' up the sides. I will attach the plastic there and wieght it down at the bottom with something, maybe sandbags. This will allow me to raise it up for ventilation. For the ends I will build a frame to sit with in the PVC frame and fasten with conduit fasteners and then wrap in plastic. The cheapest source I have found for poly is agriculturalsolutions.com.

Hope this helps. I am but a novice so if someone else has some input on my design I would love to hear it.

Thanks

Victor

• jrslick (North Central Kansas, Zone 5B)
    11 years ago

We have 6 high tunnels and 3 of them are made of PVC. Here is a link to some of our presentations and links to others presentations and directions on how to build your own.

Jay