Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
animus_divinus

farming for profit?... any advice?

animus_divinus
12 years ago

hey everyone... ive been saving a lot of money for the last 5 years... and ive been trying to figure out some way of making this money turn into more money instead of just spending it.. and i know a fair amount about commercial farming, grew up on corn fields and cattle ranches... but never been into the business for myself...

i was checking out local tax auction listings, and land here can go VERY cheap... i seen one guy buy about 200 acres for about $2,000, decent land too.. so, i was thinking i might buy a decent size chunk of land and develope it somehow into a way to make money... maybe start out with 20 acres.

im in the north eastern US.. and i was looking for advice as to what cash crops i should look into?...

one thing i read is the best way to make land profitable is not just to grow a plant, but process it further into something else... for example, instead of growing strawberries to sell, grow strawberries to make into jam to sell... so keeping this in mind.. it seems strawberries/raspberries would be a fairly profitable way to go..

ive also considered growing sugar beets to be processed into pure ethanol to sell to gas stations for their ethanol/gas blends

beekeeping also seems to be an option.. and i read mead is the fast growing alcoholic beverage right now, processing that into a wine would make it more profitable...

lastly, im open to raising animals of some type... im not sure cattle would be very profitable on this relatively small amount of land... but maybe a wool sheep, cashmere goats, alpaca... or possibly ostrich for meat...

anyway.. id like to hear your thoughts and ideas, and advice as to what i could maybe do to get into doing this all-in at some point.

Comments (25)

• jrslick (North Central Kansas, Zone 5B)
    12 years ago