Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rio_grande124

Mini hoop house question

Rio_Grande
10 years ago

We added a mini hoop house this year after getting the cold crops in the ground. I have most if not all my seeds started this year and have started putting the trays in it until we can get them transplanted into the main garden.

It is small only 7x16 x 5'6" tall. I know it's small, but my parents have a tough time getting into the cold frames now days.

My question is we covered the top and partial ends but haven compleetly closed our ends in yet. Our night temps are in the 50s now. Since we are just storing the plants in it do we need to close the ends off? I know we need to for the fall but at the moment we are having to open the cold frames every sunny day.

Thanks for the patience. I am new to anything that resembles a green house.

Comments (15)

• myfamilysfarm
    10 years ago

With 50s as low, I keep the ends open. I will close the ends if temps are forecasted for the 30s. It helps to harden the plants off.

• cole_robbie
    10 years ago

Wind protection is the biggest benefit of end walls for me, but that depends on the wind you get at your location. It's nice to be able to close everything up right before a storm.

• Rio_Grande
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Well no reason I can't fasten it to the header and roll it up. I can cut the vent and door in it later when things are slower. If I need to we can roll it down.
    Thanks for the replies.

• randy41_1
    10 years ago

what are you growing in it?

• Rio_Grande
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Right now we are just holding tomato plants in it until we can move them to the garden when it dries some. I know wage tomatoes like heat.

• 2ajsmama
    10 years ago

Tomatoes will be fine with night temps in the 50's. Just make sure it doesn't get too hot for them during the day with the plastic on.

• Rio_Grande
    Original Author
    10 years ago