Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardener1908

any tips on growing carrots

gardener1908
15 years ago

This is my first year growing carrots. Any tips?

Comments (9)

• gardener1908
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I came across a cool idea for planting carotts or small seeds the other day in an old "square foot gardening book" circa 80's. You build a wooden frame the size of the bed you want to plant, (mine are divided into 4ft. sections) then attach chicken wire to the bottom.. This allows you to evenly place your seeds. We made one and it works like a charm. I will also use it for beets, radishes. green onions,etc. I will put some onions in with my carrots. Thanks

• carinb
    15 years ago

Raised Beds. I only grow carrots in the deep loose soil of raised beds. Water, Water, Water until they are well germinated. Good luck!

• kritzmicrogrow
    15 years ago

1908 --There are basically 2 ways to plant carrot, For large production most people mechanical seed as thin as machine lets and let them grow in the proper muck/peat soil,cultivate 2-3 times and fertilize. This technique produces many carrots but are all not uniform and have to be processed (#1,#2,cull and so on)
    For small production 200-1000 row feet plow a trench about 8 inch,s deep and fill half way with compost. Fill up the rest of the furrow with the loose dirt that you plowed.
    This is more time consuming but if you seed fairly thinly and do a final thinning of 1 carrot per 2-3 inches you will have beautiful carrots for market( add some 12-12-12 fertilizer between the compost and dirt)
    Your yield should be about 1 bundle of market ready carrots per every 2 feet.
    I have used this latter technique with very good success and found that there is a great market for fresh home-grown carrots because not many market gardeners bother with them.
    DEEP, LOOSE, WELL FERTILIZED SOIL WITH AT LEAST 1 INCH OF WATER PER WEEK & PROPER THINNING!

• gardener1908
    Original Author
    15 years ago