Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mdfarmer_gw

Growing ginger in northern areas

mdfarmer
9 years ago

This is my first year growing ginger, I have 10 pounds to plant in my high tunnel this weekend (hopefully). Other than info on the East Branch Ginger site (which is where I obtained my ginger), I haven't found much info on growing ginger in northern areas. The Ginger Forum seems to be mostly people in the south.

So, anyone who has grown ginger, I'd be curious to hear about your experience, yields, etc. I've got my ginger planted in seed starter mix in trays on a heat mat. One of the 3 trays has ginger that's sprouted, so that one's under lights. My high tunnel's not quite ready yet and I'm wondering if getting more of the ginger to sprout and keeping it under lights indoors will help me make up for lost time if I can't get it planted outside until mid-May or so.

Comments (75)

• randy41_1
    9 years ago

they grow very slowly. they need heat. too wet and they rot.

• theripetomatofarm
    9 years ago

Thanks Randy. I have them in a tropical room, so its about 85F. Is that too warm? I have them in damp peat, should I let them dry out a bit?

• randy41_1
    9 years ago

sounds like what you are doing is good. patience. it takes 6 months for it to get to 3' tall.

• theripetomatofarm
    9 years ago

Yeah, I've grown the plant before (grew it like a Canna)...but I've never sprouted the tubers. Wasn't sure how long they took to show signs of life or if they needed any "help".

Thanks!

• mdfarmer
    Original Author
    9 years ago

RipeTomato: Puna ginger/Biker Dude recommends 70-80 degrees for presprouting ginger, with 75 degrees being ideal. They say it'll take 2-3 weeks for ginger to sprout. Some of my ginger sprouted pretty quickly, but the other type took forever. I think white ginger grew quickly and yellow was slow, but I'd have to check my notes from spring. I sprouted my ginger on heat mats and it was hard to keep them at 70 degrees here in March.