Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ordairygirl

Compare market fees

ordairygirl
12 years ago

There seems to be a wide range of market fees in my local markets. Just wondering what the fee structure looks like at different markets across the U.S. Also, what percentage of your profit do you figure this fee takes of your total sales?

One local market charges a $50 application fee and $25 per market day. Another charges a $45 yearly stall fee plus 6% of sales. Stall sizes are 10 x 10 and nothing is provided (like tables, canopies, etc.).

Since its my first year I don't know if these fees will seem large or insignificant compared to my sales. I'd like to do $250 a market day...but that sure is a lot of product!

Comments (9)

• little_minnie
    12 years ago

Ours is $100 per season for a vehicle spot or $75 for a non vehicle spot which means you have to move your truck before the market starts. Our season is mid May ot mid October. I really don't know where the fee money all goes since we advertise very little.

• myfamilysfarm
    12 years ago

Around here, fees run any where from free to $300 per season (26 weeks) per vehicle space. Not every market allows your vehicle to stay. I call a vehicle space the same as a parking spot, but 10' wide.

• 2ajsmama
    12 years ago

New (1st year) market 12 weeks $95, other nearby market 15 weeks (2nd year) $200 (last year was $150) for 15 weeks - both are run by nonprofits as fundraisers.

Market I sold at last year (town-sponsored) was $125 (for 25 market days in 20 weeks), think it's still the same this year (application didn't change - not even dates so I have a question in), might be 1 less market day due to 4th of July holiday.

Other larger established markets are not accepting new vendors (or weren't last year, I have to check this year) but were more expensive.