Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
digit_gw

Any Profit in What You're Doin'?

digit
17 years ago

The folks over in the Vegetable Forum are asking if growing produce actually generates any profit. Or, is it just a net loss like that guy with the $64 tomato.

Whaddya think?

Steve

Here is a link that might be useful: Anyone done the math?

Comments (19)

• robin_maine
    17 years ago

Yes, it can be profitable. It's what I do for a living.

• heidi41
    17 years ago

I, too, think it CAN be profitable. I've been selling from my roadside farm stand for years, Bedding plants, cut flowers and fresh veggies. This year I cut way back on the bedding plants as I don't feel there is much profit in it after paying the fuel expense for the green houses. However, depending on what your growing, it certainly is profitable. Last year I also started selling at afarmers market. I do keep records and I did make a profit. I certainly don't think I can get rich this way but the extra income helps out. And besides I love the farming so I see it as a WIN WIN situation. HEIDI

• ohiorganic
    17 years ago

I do it for a living and do indeed make a profit, though not everyone who tries will. You have to be a good marketer and be able to build a loyal customer base to succeed

• digit
    Original Author
    17 years ago

The thinking amongst a few in the "has anyone done the math" thread was that it was nearly impossible to grow vegetables more cheaply than they could be purchased at the supermarket.