Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ordairygirl

Adding a market

ordairygirl
11 years ago

This is my first year selling at a farmer's market. I've done the local farmers market 3 times now, barely making the market fee each time. Small town, less than 50 customers and bad weather has made for a very slow start. I am selling plants and am starting to bring produce as it is ready. Have had very good reception of my offerings...just not enough people to purchase. I was planning on holding off going to the large markets until next year, but now financially think I may need to take the leap now. Any danger of going to a big market too soon? Funny thing is the market fee is less at the big market, but its a 45 minute drive. How did you start off? Is May always slow and will June be much better? How many markets do you attend each week? Just looking for advice and stories to help make an informed decision.

Comments (11)

• myfamilysfarm
    11 years ago

May, for me, is always slow. It's not surprising that the larger market's fees are lower. With more vendors, the market can have a smaller fee to cover their costs.

• 2ajsmama
    11 years ago

First year at market, 45 minute drive to second market, I think I'd hold off a year, see how the local market goes. Do you have enough produce and time to support a second market?

You might want to try the larger market next year (if you can do it, 45 min 1-way would kill me!) to see if sales are better, and then ask about joining the local (to you) market on a week-by-week basis during your high season if you have enough produce to support it. What days are the 2 markets on?

• ordairygirl
    Original Author
    11 years ago