Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
steve22802

How long is it acceptable to hold greens in refrigeration?

steve22802
14 years ago

How far in advance of market day do you feel is acceptable to harvest salad greens (lettuce mix and spinach) if refrigeration is available? Also would it be acceptable to take greens home from a Saturday market, place them in refrigeration and then sell them at a Tuesday market?

I'm new at selling at the farmers market so I don't have a good feel yet for how much to harvest but it seems like my leftover greens, especially spinach, seem to still be in near prime condition after being stored in refrigeration. I just assumed that I would always harvest fresh one day ahead for every market but maybe this isn't necessarily so...?

Comments (6)

• strawbry_wine
    14 years ago

I harvest greens & salad mix 2 days before market. I have both refrigeration and hydro-cooling. I've gone so far as to sell week-old unsold lettuce mix to a caterer because the lettuce mix didn't look a day over harvest and it was still gorgeous and tasty. If the greens are still uber fresh--they represent you well--I say sell 'em when you can.

• brad9
    14 years ago

I've noticed when we spin the greens dry there is less fogging than when we don't. Rather obvious I guess, less water in bag means less to fog. As mentioned above, though, a lot would depend on other environmental factors. Good luck!

• diggerdee zone 6 CT
    14 years ago

I work for a woman who sells greens, and we sell at two markets, one on Friday and one on Saturday. We usually harvest on Friday for both.

I do believe she may sell some of those Friday-harvested greens at a Wednesday market also, but not completely sure of this. Also, she usually sells whole heads, and just started with the bag of mixes near the end of last season, so I don't think she has sold those left-over mixes at the Wednesday market yet (because she never has any left over, lol!)