Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
heidi41_gw

Advertising for the Farmers Market????

heidi41
16 years ago

As a new market manager, I was wondering if anyone had any good input on advertising for the Market. So far, we are running an ad in our local paper that will appear the week before we open(May 31) We also have some signs that will be hung up in various store windows and "local bullitin boards". We will be hanging large Market signs in several spots around town on the mornings of the market (we have to take them down after the market) We have our 3' x 8' Market banner and a 3' x 4' metal "sandwich board" type sign. Wow, being in charge of even a small market takes quite a bit of planning. But I LOVE IT. I guess I better put some time out in the field right now. Heidi

Comments (7)

• moonblooms
    16 years ago

Ask your local TV news stations if you can come in and do a "special interest" piece. You could take one of your market vendors and do a cooking segment while you plug the market. Our market coordinator arranged to have me and a local chef on the morning news. My husband and I sell honey and flowers, so I brought several jars of our honey and big, bright bouquets to set up by the "cooking station". The chef made a recipe with the honey and I talked about the market with the news anchor. It was just a 2 minute spot, but it was good publicity. They also put up the market information on the screen (date, time, location).

Also, make sure you get in contact with all the "tourist publications" and the weekly "things to do" calenders.

• barrie2m_(6a, central PA)
    16 years ago

Local newsletters are usually low cost advertising. Radio stations may also put you in their calendar of events section. Whether or not you have a website you can contact webmasters for popular local sites and get on their calendars for free or minimal cost.