Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
herbgardener

Help with pricing

herbgardener
14 years ago

I have been selling to a restaurant and caterer for the past two years. Because my space is so limited I have seeked out planting what is not available in the stores. Both clients have really appreciated this as it makes them stand out above the rest.

This year I have planted eight varieties of cherry tomatoes and also Aunt Molly ground cherries.

Any ideas for pricing would be appreciated?

Comments (7)

• gardendawgie
    14 years ago

I would try for a minimum of $5 a pint. You are special growing them for the customer. You can hardly afford any less. get more if possible. Not sure now British Columbia prices are. But a pint will go a long way in a restaurant. I would guess over 50 tomatoes at a dime each is cheap.

You can always come down but it is harder to go up. Just tell them that you figured your costs at $5 a pint to grow them. You can tell them you will reduce the price if the yield is better then expected.

you have to become a salesman. You have to let them know how special the restraunt is. and how special you grow these for them. How hard you are working on the project of finding them the very best. not every item will be a success so you need a good price on them all for now.

I do not sell to restraunts but I know some pay super high prices. Probably $20 a pint if you ship them say to NYC. etc.

A party goes into a restaurant today and walks out paying over $100. you deserve a dime for a premium cherry tomato. You have to sell yourself first. then you can sell them better. You have to become convinced you are the best and they will be the best.

• herbgardener
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks very much the info. I have been really fortunate to have customers who appreciate all the hard work I do. I just have a hard time getting a price on some things when I can not find them in the stores to begin with.
    Once again thanks

• andreaz6wv