Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jojoca574

prices this year?

jojoca
12 years ago

This is my first year selling privately and was wondering what prices are you getting for lettuce, spinach, onions, rhubarb and radishes. Im just selling to people at work and so does my wife at her job. I've setup last year where people could order either ten or 15 dollars a bag a week and I would bring them whatever in season up to that amount they were buying and and did that all seaason but thought about pricing things individually to people also.

Comments (50)

• jrslick (North Central Kansas, Zone 5B)
    12 years ago

This is what I have been selling things for. Spinach and Lettuce in 8 ounce bags, $4.00, Romaine heads, 3.50 each, onions (scallions sized) 6 for $1.00, Radishes 6-8 in a bunch for $1.00 it should be more, but I don't want to make change and I will never get rich selling radishes.

No idea on Rhubarb.

Jay

• boulderbelt
    12 years ago

Leeks $1.00 each (they are small, large go for $1.50)
    Pint of strawberries $4
    spinach $8 a pound
    lettuce $6 a pound
    kale $6 a pound
    Chard $6 a pound
    radishes $1.50 a bunch (8 to 10 in a bunch)
    Chives $1 a bunch
    fresh herbs $1 for a small baggie
    asparagus $5 a pound
    Spring mix $8 a pound
    Cukes $1 to $1.50 ea (specialty)
    garlic $1 ea
    Scallions $1 a bunch

I also do a CSA and sell a bag (share) of food for $25 to $33 per week (depending on type of share they buy)

You should price higher than grocery stores as your stuff is far fresher plus you are delivering. Don't under sell yourself, your produce is far better, price it that way. people are more than willing to pay for a piece of the farm, as it were.

• brookw_gw
    12 years ago

I get $4 a lb for rhubarb.

• jojoca
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Wow I'm definitely not charging as much. I will have to get a feel for people and see if I can get those kind of prices.

• myfamilysfarm
    12 years ago