Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardener1908

So how are your first markets going?

gardener1908
14 years ago

I was wondering how everybody was doing since the season started. This is my first year and I opened my little roadside stand this weekend. Because of fickle weather and other reasons some of my own crops were either done or not ready, so I bought strawberries from a local farmer as an attraction to go along with my lettuces and potted herbs. Also had a few baby carrots, turnips and a few english peas. I was opened Sat. & Sun. for about 5hrs each and we did several hundred dollars sales both days. Profit wasn't good on the berries but they got the people to stop and then they would buy other things. Several people from out of town asked for my business card and asked me to call them when other crops were ready, esp. the PEAS! boy they are good ( I picked a few that were ready and gave samples . I figured that if people are willing to drive 15-20 miles to buy my stuff I was pretty excited. Hope you all are doing well.

Comments (32)

• bagardens (Ohio, Zone 5b)
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Wow, I can't believe how well you did for your first time open! That is great to hear. How did people find out about you to come from 15-20 miles away? What is your stand setup like?

We had our first market of the year on Saturday. We sold a lot of lettuce and considering it was much slower than a normal Saturday, we did pretty well. The only problem is that it is a smaller market and we still have tons of lettuce that needs to be picked and no place to sell it. Most of the other markets around here do not start for at least a month.