Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
healingheartsfarm

Heirloom Potato Prices?

HealingHeartsFarm
11 years ago

I am growing several varieties of heirloom potatoes this year- all blue, yukon gold, mountain rose, la ratte fingerlings. It is my first year marketing potatoes (except for yukon golds). I am a certified naturally grown farm. Can any other market growers offer me input on prices?

Comments (12)

• myfamilysfarm
    11 years ago

I don't find that heirloom potatoes are any different in price that regular potatoes. Anywhere from $1.00 to $3.00 per lb, depending upon market and newness. Haven't seen any certified naturally grown farms listed on any other vendors. You will need to check other's prices.

I never print my prices UNTIL after I've seen what other's are selling for. I do check what the grocery store's regular prices are, in case I'm the first in market. I always price my produce higher by at least 25 cents per pound than the regular price in grocery stores.

Marla

• HealingHeartsFarm
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I have checked other vendors prices. They sell conventionally raised potatoes for about $1/lb. Mine are raised using organic methods and certified by "Certified Naturally Grown". CNG is a private/non-profit alternative to the USDA's organic program that certifies direct marketing growers. Certification requires that you follow the National Organic Program guidelines and pass an on farm inspection. I wasn't sure how to mark up my potatoes since I am the only certified grower at the market.

Thanks for the helpful input. I was thinking about $2-$2.50/lb.

• myfamilysfarm
    11 years ago

I've checked out the Certified Natural Grown site when it first came out, and understand it's procedures and regulations.