Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
harveyspooka

Protecting my Investments

harveyspooka
16 years ago

I'm wondering if you would share your tips for protecting your crops. I'm having some terrible trouble. I'm a third-year market farmer. Up until this year I was growing and selling just flowers. I had a few pests but the situation was controllable(?) This year I've expanded to peas, potatoes, tomatoes, peppers, cukes, squash and onions. Almost every morning I discover something has eaten at least one type of plant. This morning I discovered two of my best tomato plants had their top 6 inches of growth eaten off and something ate my largest dahlia top. My peas are munched on regularly. I have been fighting an infestation of four-lined plant bugs and mealy bugs on my potato plants. I've grown all these things successfully before but it was on a city lot and admittedly, I didn't have the critters there that I have here in my rural home. Could this be rabbits? Groundhogs? Raccoons? I'm going nuts here.

I'm thinking of erecting either fencing or some hoop houses. Any suggestions for fencing that might work? I'll do whatever it takes, except give up. I'm a woman on a mission! HA!

Thanks for your help. This forum has been invaluable to me.

HarveysPooka

Comments (6)

• moonblooms
    16 years ago

We had a problem earlier this year with rabbits eating our sunflowers. We sprinkled moth balls around and it helped. I've also read that human hair is a deterrent (ask your local barber or hair stylist to save it for you). I think that's kind of yucky though, so we went with the moth balls.

As for the bugs, one of the best solutions is to keep the area around your beds mowed. Our bugs like to live in the tall weeds, so if we mow, they get chopped up before they can do much damage.

• ohiorganic
    16 years ago

Never ever use mothballs in a food garden! They are quite toxic.

We use dogs to keep deer and bunnies out of the garden, mouse traps for voles.