Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sweetmuse

Imports verses local market

SweetMuse
18 years ago

Hi,

I went to the grocery store the other day and paid over $6.00 for a bag of 6 nectarines. I didnÂt realize I had paid so much until I looked at my receipt. I also noticed that all the fish or aquaculture items are imported from Chile and Vietnam.

I asked my husband why are grocery stores buying these items from other countries, when there are local markets here? wouldnÂt they be more affordable and fresher if local grocery stores got their produce and fish locally?

wouldnÂt each countries benefit economically more by encouraging local grocery stores to buy their products locally?

I am wondering on what you as farmers feel about products being imported from other countries.

Personally for me, I am in the beginning process of getting my inspection certificate so I can start to sell my herbs, baked goods and vegetables at the farmers market. I am also a freelance writer and I am working on putting together an article on this topic and would realy like to hear from you guys.

Thanks,

Katharyne

Comments (12)

• anniew
    18 years ago

The grocery stores offer these products because they can sell them to people such as yourself.
    People are used to buying things that are "perfect" looking but full of pesticides (especially from other countries with less laws than we have), that are out of season (and therefore can't be available locally year round), and that don't care about the price as long as they have what they want when they want it (too much discretionary money and no sense of where their food comes from or how it is grown or what season it can be grown locally).
    At farmers markets where I vend in NE Pennsylvania, people want tomatoes and peppers and corn even before we can put them in the ground.
    The general population is so removed from our agricultural heritage that we no longer respect Mother Nature's timing in different localities.