Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
12g87_gw

Purple Pepper

12g87
11 years ago

Hello I'm new to market gardening and this forum. This will be my fifth year with a garden and my first year at market.

My garden is coming along very good with the weather we are having and I have some little bell peppers starting.

I have grown peppers before, but this is my first year growing the purple ones. My purples are the lilac variety. I have always thought that bell peppers started out green and then turned color as they ripened. However my purple bell peppers seem to have started out purple.

Is this normal? And how do they do at market? Thanks Nate

Market Stand/Garden

https://picasaweb.google.com/100505373000478208259/June32012#5749933780472947538

Purple Pepper

https://picasaweb.google.com/100505373000478208259

/June32012#5749933801452877026

Comments (25)

• jrslick (North Central Kansas, Zone 5B)
    11 years ago

Hello Nate,

Peppers are looking nice, the purple peppers sell great down here in K-State country! I have probably over 100 purple bell pepper plants planted.

Your peppers are perfectly normal. They start off purple and then eventually turn red, but it takes a long time. SO, if they don't sell well, wait and the they will turn red. They have some marketing options!

Here are some of mine from several years ago. The variety is Tequilla.

{{gwi:134617}}

• boulderbelt
    11 years ago

Yes, they start purple and ripen to red. You pick in the immature purple (green) stage. These will taste like green peppers and not be sweet like the ripe peppers.

I have grown them for year but they have never been great sellers for me so this year I dropped them from the pepper rotation.

• myfamilysfarm
    11 years ago

There are certain varieties that start off the color of their name, purple, yellow that I know of personally.

I agree, the different color peppers didn't sell well. Good one green turning red, were the best selling peppers.

• 2ajsmama
    11 years ago