Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
slimy_okra

Part time market gardening?

Slimy_Okra
12 years ago

So I got my Master's degree, worked in academia for a couple years and have decided it's not really my thing. But the one advantage this type of career carries is stability.

I really love gardening. I got into market gardening just to try it out and I like it. But it's really not practical to do when working full time.

I'm married, no kids, no plans for kids.

So if I wanted to work 2-3 days a week at a normal job, and manage a market garden as well, how much land do you think would be reasonable to grow on, while still being worthwhile? An acre? Five acres? I am learning towards intensive, hoophouse culture of niche crops, early and late season crops with relatively low input (i.e. no heated greenhouses and stuff like that), mixed with more mainstream crops.

Niche crops and hoophouse crops have not really taken off in Canada like they have in the U.S, so there is opportunity in that here.

Comments (5)

• jrslick (North Central Kansas, Zone 5B)
    12 years ago

I am a full time teacher during the school year Mid August through Late May. I am a full time market gardener Late May- Mid August and the rest of the time I am a Full time teacher and Market Gardener!

We garden intensively on about 1.25 acre. We live on 4.5 acres. We also have close to 7,000 square feet of growing space under high tunnels, in a year. We grow/harvest year around now.

The hardest part about working full time and market gardening is managing the high tunnels. In the spring and fall they need to be opened and closed almost daily. Then comes storms. I can handle winter storms, it is the severe weather that hurts. If you do go with high tunnels, make sure you have a plan for this.