Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
muffy432002

Single or Multiple Crops

muffy432002
15 years ago

I'm new to the market gardening arena and I'm trying to plan for next year.

Would it be naive to focus on one type of crop,say, lettuce or lavender or sunflowers( ideas I'm toying with) or is it better to offer a variety of crops to the buyer. I come from a retail background so the idea of "branding" is imedded in my psyche.(" Oh look,she's the lady that has all those unique lettuce varieties...". However, seems like offering many different choices would help act as a cushion in the case of crop failure etc... Advice , please!

Comments (5)

• robin_maine
    15 years ago

I'm comfortable in diversity. If I had a crop failure with one or two crops I'd be scrambling to pay the farm bills for a year.

Here is a link that might be useful: Seasons Eatings Farm

• diggerdee zone 6 CT
    15 years ago

I work for a woman who sells mostly just lettuce. She has some other greens (kale, mustard, beets, mizuna, tatsoi, etc.) but at the market she is known mostly for lettuce.

She does plant a few tomatoes and peppers, and has some parsley, basil, maybe some cilantro, and she brings those to market. For instance, we've had some intense heat here and between that and a scheduling/timing glitch, she won't have much lettuce for next week's market. So she will be bringing some of the other stuff that is ready. But in general, her bread and butter is lettuce. And, she does very well at the market, because she is really the only one who grows it.

So, two things to keep in mind. Is this your main source of income, or something on the side, where if you don't do well you won't lose the house? :) This particular woman, and myself, who sells mostly cut flowers, have other jobs and other sources of income.