Return to the Market Gardener Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Selling at a farmer's market

Posted by mossflower none (My Page) on
Mon, Jul 14, 14 at 9:34

I sell what I grow at two farmer's markets. I sell my produce for a living and also have a CSA.

I would like to know how other growers that are small scale (I grow on only 1 acre) deal with the lower prices that other larger farms at the same market charge.

I have already lowered my prices at one of our markets and still cannot compete with the lower prices of another vendor. As this is my sole source of income I can't really go any lower.

Any ideas? I sell heirloom vegetables, herbs & flowers.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Selling at a farmer's market

Don't lower your prices! Make your role in the market to have the best quality, not the cheapest. Grow different varieties than everyone else (ie, instead of butternut squash, grow black futzu) Certified organic will also make you stand out from the crowd. If you don't want to certify, or can't afford to, then educate yourself on all the requirements and tell your customers that although you are not certified, you are growing according to the National Organic Program. But most importantly, to compete as a tiny grower at market...quality, quality, quality

o

the way to get higher prices is to have things that folks want before anyone else does. low tunnels, high tunnels, mulch plastic. early varieties. they all help.

o