Return to the Market Gardener Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
potato spray

Posted by chester5731 5 (My Page) on
Thu, Jul 22, 10 at 9:34

This is my first year growing potatoes. So far all has went fairly well. However the last while the weeds have taken over. I did well at first with hilling and cultivating to keep the weeds out. I was wondering if there is something I can spray them with to help get rid of the weeds later on when the potatoes get bigger, preferably something organic.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: potato spray

2 things #1 I use my weedeater to help with weed control with all the rain we have had. If you are ready to dig them, i would just cut everything off, rake up the loose material and dig. #2 I read a recipe for a weed killer "as good as roundup" 1 gall white vinegar 5% acid, 2 cups table salt and 8 drops dishwashing soap. I am going to mix some up and spray a spot with this mix next to a spot sprayed with a combination of 24-d and roundup I am eager to see the results of this test. john

o

my spray works good so far. results in houra not days like with roundup. i mixed up a quart batch. and used it to kill weeds on patio blocks and crabgrass in yard. cost of this spray is less than $3 / gallon and a gallon of mix would go along ways. I am some what concerned of any residual effect on the soil. John

o

The only thing that concerns me is the salt. Would it do any lasting harm to other plants? Do you spray it on the plants or just between the rows. I would like to use something other than roundup as I am allergic to it. Thanks for the response.

o

I had a discusion with an university agronomist about this spray mix. he was familiar with it. 1. it is not like roundup since it doesnt traslocate through the sprayed plant. It is a contact weed killer like paraquat. He also said that the amount of salt would leach away with no residual effect. John

o

Thanks for the info. I am going to give it a try.

o