Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wackybell

cherry toms, pricing and post -harvesting

wackybell
17 years ago

this is my first year with cherry toms. I decided to grow gold nugget and sun gold cherry toms. I have yet to see any other vendor sell a veggie by its variety name, but I listed them this week and asked customers for feedback.

I'm not sure of the proper post harvest handling of them. So far I've been picking them on a wed and thurs and fri for sat market.

I don't know if they should stay at air temp. or in the walk in cooler. This week I put them in the cooler b/c its been in the 90's. or should I put them in the house in the ac?

I have not been washing them, if one or two have dirt I just rub it off.

I bought a case of 600 clam shell pint containers for them, so they look nice at market, no other vendor is using clamshells at my market.

I had no Idea for a price, this week I sold them at $2.00 a pint. I did a price check, at the grocery I see them for $2.50. And at market, vendors had them as low as $1.00 and yes, 50 cents a pint. I had over 25 pints for sale, and I only came home with 8. And a few customers complained about my price. So I didn't know?

In short please share your post harvest handling; pricing, of cherry toms.

thanks so much

Kristi

Comments (7)

• margaretmontana
    17 years ago

I also sell gold nugget and sungold cherries, usuallly mixed and then sometimes red cherries or black cherries. I started off offering a taste when they said are those tomatoes? Now I have a lot of repeat customers and sell out early most weeks. I use pint clamshells and pick Tuesday and Friday night. I store them at room temp in a cool room.
    I wash them on Friday night and make sure I get any split or unripe ones out. I sell them for $2.00 a pint. I sell the other tomatoes mostly heirlooms for $2 a pound starting about the 2nd week of August here and then sometimes drop to $1.50 at the end of the season when all the gardens have tomatoes.