Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
slimy_okra

Your First Year of Market Gardening

Slimy_Okra
12 years ago

I was just wondering how you dealt with the chicken and egg situation. Did you start out with a large amount of land, hoping you would land a stall in a market? Or, did you do like me, practise with a small amount of land the first year? I am embarrassed sometimes to be at the market with my token harvests but I really wanted to try it out (the whole marketing aspect) before I bite the bullet and purchase some acres.

Comments (36)

• magz88
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I am in my first year too. In fact, I just had my first market last Saturday. I am starting small and most likely staying small.

How are you doing with it?

I live on a double lot and most of the yard will be in production by next year. If I do expand I will just snag the use of another lot in town.

Last week we had a full stall but I am not so sure about this week (depends on blooming!), so I totally understand what you mean about feeling you have a meagre amount. Luckily, our market has big sellers and smaller sellers so there is a space for everyone.

I am looking forward to read the other responses you get.

• randy41_1
    12 years ago

is there a waiting list for your market? if not and you can sell there then there's no reason not to go unless the value of what you bring is i started out with a lot of land and found a market. this was more than 20 years ago and i'm still selling at the same market. find somewhere you can put up a high tunnel or 2.

• jcatblum
    12 years ago

We just purchased our land last yr. 20 acres total. I didn't do a market garden this yr. With the drought I knew it would be a HUGE challenge. The only real thing that was harvested of our land was our johnson grass. We will have pears & citron mellons in the fall, but everything else couldn't handle 2 straight months of 100 degree temps this early into the summer.