Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
little_minnie

How is your garlic harvest?

little_minnie
9 years ago

I am still unsure if my all new stock of garlic is clean of Asters Yellows or not. I thought it wasn't but then reconsidered and now think it is just early and dying for the year. Although today was indeed the date I had planned to pull it so I guess it is not early. I think I am just nervous after a couple bad years.
I pulled a dozen Lorz Italian and they looked perfectly fine. Now I have to make time to harvest!

This pic was from a week ago.

Comments (15)

• Slimy_Okra
    9 years ago

Mine seems to be a bust. It's my first year growing it and I obviously messed up somewhere but not sure how. It never really got green and healthy, and still remains yellow and stunted. Onions in similar soil are doing well. Any ideas?

• randy41_1
    9 years ago

insufficient water is a possibility. i harvested my elephant garlic about a week ago and sold at least half of it today. there's not a lot of it.

• ekgrows
    9 years ago

We pulled up a few heads Friday - they look great. Will start digging some of the 2506 plants up Monday. Customers have been asking for it.

• ekgrows
    9 years ago

We dug up about 20% of our garlic today. We have some of the biggest heads we have ever grown. I swear - some of the Metechi and German Extra Hardy are half the size of the elephant garlic. At least somthing liked the record breaking cold this winter, and lots of rain this spring! This picture has Music on the left, elephant in the center, and German Extra Hardy on the right.

• little_minnie
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Nice.
    I think mine does look ok. The yellowing isn't getting worse; just showing the season is about up.

• jrslick (North Central Kansas, Zone 5B)
    9 years ago