Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paulns

Price of frozen organic raspberries

paulns
17 years ago

This is my first year doing serious market gardening - last year was sporadic and I sold a lot of produce cheap. Now I'm checking prices on OPX, reading this forum, calling farmer's markets and the supermarkets...

I tried selling fresh raspberries for $8/quart but the look on people's faces had me going down to $6. I have a few customers who want large quantities of frozen raspberries for jam. A quart of berries weighs over a pound, so shouldn't frozen be worth more? Still, I priced them at $4/pound. But these customers seem dismayed at how little they get at $4/pound, i.e., they hear the price and decide to buy less. Given the labour, freezer space and energy involved $4 seems a bargain to me and is competitive with frozen raspberries from Chile. I want to help people out but I hate to sell so cheap.

I have no competition for raspberries. There are two small grocery stores within a 20 mile radius of here, neither sells fresh raspberries, and all their produce comes from at least an hour and a half's drive away. Population is 2 people per square kilometer.

I'm confused and made very uncomfortable by this pricing business. I do have a few great customers who don't question my prices - they're happy to get fresh, local, organic. These customers are from the city, one is the chef at a local resort.

End of this rather disjointed lament :)

Comments (8)

• anniew
    17 years ago

I haven't sold any this year, but last year I got $3 a HALF PINT for raspberries.
    Your price is ridiculously low. I'm not sure it is worth it to even pick them for that price, not even considering the years' worth of work into the plants. Here, if I froze something and sold it, I'd need a processing license along with a kitchen inspection.
    MAYBE you could sell them for $8 a quart as a pick-your-own?