Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
boulderbelt

How long is Your Season?

boulderbelt
12 years ago

How far into the fall/winter do you sell?

We usually sell every month of the year. Our FM season winds down in December when we go to a once a month outdoor market (and I miss Feb every year as it is too cold to sell greens, squash and taters without everything freezing up and getting ruined)

Our CSA goes until the end of January and we will do intermittent sales out of the farm store all winter long.

Oh and we may pick up a new market with a natural foods co-op that is opening in the next few months

We have several unheated greenhouses where we grow a lot of greens and roots and leeks all winter plus we do root cellaring of things like onions, winter squash, potatoes, parsnips, carrots and garlic.

Comments (4)

• Slimy_Okra
    12 years ago

Don't know, as this is my first year marketing my produce. But with row covers inside unheated greenhouses, the harvest season typically goes upto mid-November, and planting again begins in mid-March. Not enough sunshine in Dec-Feb to run anything.

• jrslick (North Central Kansas, Zone 5B)
    12 years ago

Coming up in September, we have been selling every week of the year for the past year. Prior to this it was just from frost to frost.

With our 6 high tunnels, 2 movable, we will have over 6,000 square feet of growing space over the winter. We will also have winter squash, onions, sweet potatoes and some potatoes. In addition we have jams and jellies and pork.

This year we are planning on selling weekly up to Christmas. Take the week after christmas off, then start selling every other week until late April. The start the twice a week Farmers Markets back up at the end of April though next October.