Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wertach2

Selling Hercules crowder pea seed question?

My local feed and seed wanted me to grow out some Hercules pea seed for them since they get a lot of requests and have no bulk source. They know that I have been saving the seed for many years.

I gave them about 1 lb. to distribute last year when they got requests. That is the reason they asked me to grow out seed for them.

They are hard to find and popular around here with folks that remember them. I understand why, they are easy to grow, pick,and shell. They are my and everyone that has tried them favorite!

Most folks don't like the new and improved version Colossus80. They don't taste as good.

Clemson (South Carolina Crop Improvement Association) has them, $3 for 150 seed.

I stopped in to the feed and seed store today to get some other seed.

I told the manager that I have about 10 lb. now and will have more soon. I asked her what she planned to pay for them.

She said that she didn't remember asking me to grow them out for her. She said she would buy them for $4 a pound after I got a germination test! The germination test is free so no biggy, but $4 A POUND!

I'm thinking about offering them on E-Bay. I am not a certified organic grower but they have been grown using organic practices. No chemical fertilizers and no pesticides.

Can I make the statement "grown using organic practices" on E-Bay?

I'm sure that would bring in more buyers. But I can't prove that fact!

Comments (8)

• myfamilysfarm
    10 years ago

I wouldn't, I don't take the chance that the Organic Certifiers would catch me and I don't want to pay the huge fee. That's just me.

If she's planning on paying you $4/lb, then she'll retail them at $8. Standard practice on bulk seed. If she buys them, she's taking the chance of them not selling and she'd have forever. You might offer a consignment agreement, that way she won't have to worry about having seed that might not sell.