Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
markincalgary_gw

Some resources

markincalgary
19 years ago

I wouldn't call myself a market gardener. I do have my own garden, and I do work on a relatively large (per volunteer) community garden, but I'm by no means a professional. It is in my future plans though, which is why I like to read up on issues surrounding sustainable agriculture.

One of my favourite references is the second edition of 'Managing Cover Crops Profitably'. A PDF is free for download here at the Sustainable Agriculture Research and Education's website.

I also think the second edition of Building Soils for Better Crops is particularly relevant to this forum.

SARE's publications are nice because they're reasonably up to date, and relavent to agricultural operations that are larger than personal gardens.

Anyways, I could list a lot more publications on agriculture that I've found interesting, but those are two of my favourites that are a lot less well known than Eliot Coleman's books.

Feel free to chime in with your own recommendations.

Comments (13)

• robin_maine
    19 years ago

Growing For Market is very good. Link below.

Here is a link that might be useful: Growing For Market

• mark_brown
    19 years ago

So how many pages will a 20 ml HP ink cartrige print on a desk jet printer? Just wondering what it would cost to print at home. I like to have paper in my hands to read where ever.

Mark

• randy41_1
    19 years ago

growing for market is proof that the best way to make a lot of money is not selling at a farmers market but selling a magazine.
    sorry about being so cynical.

• mark_brown
    19 years ago

Randy41, where is your magazine?? sorry about being so cynical.

mark

• misterg
    19 years ago

I agree that 'growing for market' is a demonstration of the best way to make money by NOT growing anything - unimpressed. totally. great ADS in it though.

I don't have a magazine either - in case you were going to ask.

• mark_brown