Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
familybiz850

New Berry Farm in FL - Need buyers

familybiz850
10 years ago

Hello all,

So over the past few years, our family has thrown around the idea of starting a blueberry farm. We are now FINALLY moving forward (after someone tried to buy our land over the summer for start his own farm) but need some direction in marketing to buyers and distributors. Obviously, a farm full of berries does no good unless you have someone to sell them to, right? If anyone has any input that would be great!

Comments (7)

• myfamilysfarm
    10 years ago

For blueberries there is a group of blueberry growers, sorry I don't know their name. You might check with the state agriculture department.

• uglyapple
    10 years ago

You did not specify the size of your expected operation, but I have some knowledge of selling a few acres. I grow and sell several acres of blueberries outside of Greensboro, NC. IâÂÂm no expert on SHB production in Florida, but I do know that the Florida Blueberry industry is growing rapidly because the berries are very early and sell for a high price. A lot of people are getting into the business and the competition is huge!

If you plan to grow a few acres you can direct market them PYO or through FarmerâÂÂs Markets. That is what I do with a few acres.