Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jrslick

Winter Farmers Market

We have three weeks left of our season and several vendors were talking about doing a Winter Farmers Market the weekend before Thanksgiving. We have several producers who will have produce, (greens, roots, and storage crops), several with jams and jellies, and several more with meats (buffalo and pork), several bakers and one with cheese.

Do you sell at a winter market? Does it work well? Where do you have it? At an inside location? We were just kicking around the idea, but I really want to do it, but I can't pull it off by myself. I need all the other producers to make it happen. Also, do you include other people like avon, mary kay, candles, pamper chef and etc?

What are your thought?

Jay

Comments (19)

• boulderbelt
    13 years ago

I have been doing a monthly out door winter market for 7 or 8 years. We sell greens, roots, onions, garlic, leeks, popcorn, dried culinary herbs, catnip, winter squash and occasionally some canned goods.

There are others who sell baked goods, meat, soap, grains, arts and crafts and eggs. Usually 10 or 12 sellers show up

Generally we do pretty well with sales as this market has a dedicated core of around 100-150 customers that will show up in a blizzard and buy food.

we do not go to markets when the temps will be below 25F throughout the market as we have had too many things freeze and had to be dumped on the compost. this means we will usually miss one or two markets during the winter. this year I suspect we will quit going after January as I doubt we will have much to sell.

• myfamilysfarm
    13 years ago