Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
2ajsmama

Gotta do something to increase sales, stay in business

2ajsmama
9 years ago

This year was the worst yet, I've been doing this since 2011 (kinda jumped in with both feet, I forget what my sales were then, could have been less than this year but I can see that).

2012 was great, but I still didn't break even.

2013 awful, wet, lots of crop loss and late harvests.

2014 was cool and a bit wet, late harvests but not too bad. The thing is, even things that did sell for me last year (like tomato starts, summer squash, and green beans) didn't sell as well this year. So even when I had things, they didn't sell (at the same market I was at last year, so that's not it).

I've been growing tomatoes and peppers - but peppers are always late, I'm thinking of giving up. Tomatoes are a big seller early and late, and I do have plastic now for the tunnel, so I can start those earlier next year so is it worth putting in about 30 plants in 55ft middle row just to have some (maybe) in July instead of Aug?

I have 2 side rows, not much height, I did buy lots of pepper seed at $ Store but not big investment, what's best to put in those beds next year?

Market runs late June through end of Oct (unless I can get into a different market), so lettuce is always bolting by then, strawberries are almost finished (and this year I didn't harvest many due to chipmunks getting through netting), though strawberry jam sells well. July is a real low point, I didn't even pick blueberries this year b/c I was so busy with 200 tomato plants (will cut that down next year) and the beans (that I am thinking of increasing since I need to rotate out of nightshades). But blueberries don't sell well for me at market, though again the jam does.

July is hot and awful to stand out on the blacktop selling too, not too bad this year (but I didn't have much to bring so skipped it).