Return to the Market Gardener Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Bulk source for seedling heat mats?

Posted by Slimy_Okra 2B (My Page) on
Sun, Oct 20, 13 at 15:20

I'm wondering if there is a bulk source for large heating mats, the kind that accommodate four flats each. I can get them individually at $50 each.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Bulk source for seedling heat mats?

check alibaba.com and be prepared to buy a LOT of mats.

http://www.alibaba.com/showroom/seed-mat.html

o

50 each is pretty good.

o

look into agritape.

o

My son uses some for his business, and he makes them. He gets the mats, but wires them himself. I'll get to see where he gets the stuff.

o

• Posted by budb 8b (My Page) on
    Mon, Oct 21, 13 at 11:51

Slimy Okra
I have been using old electric blankets for almost 20 years.
Shop your local thrift stores for cheapos and fold in half or whatever to fit your table/bench. Cover table with several layers of newspaper, lay blankets on paper and cover with several
layers of plastic sheeting. Place trays on plastic and you are in business. Usually low to medium thermostat settings will be sufficient. You will need a thermometer to check your soil temps.
You may need to add a top blanket/cover for germination if your work area is unheated.
I use this set-up to grow several hundred 72 cell trays each year.
Good Luck!
Bud

o

If I needed lots of heat pads and didn't have any I would recommend heating blankets too. Some people use Xmas lights but seems like a hassle for a larger operation. For so many trays it would be cheaper to heat the room highly. I have 8-10 mats so I have started germinating the seeds in small pots and then transplanting to cells but keeping the area warmish.

o

I have not been impressed with the heating mats because they seem to die after a short period of time and are really expensive. We are planning to build a heated germination table that is similar to this one: